Return to Headlines

HRCSD Honors 50 Years of School Board Volunteers for School Board Appreciation Month

Governor Kate Brown has proclaimed January as school board appreciation month. Superintendent Dan Goldman took the opportunity to recognize years of volunteer service from past and present board members. The individual and collective efforts of these community leaders helped create the conditions for student success.

School board members from past and present stand for a picture
School board members past and present are recognized for School Board Appreciation Month. Front row left to right: Bev Annala, Julia Garcia Ramirez, Brandi Sheppard, Chuck Haynie, Liz Whitmore, Anne Saxby, Chrissy Reitz, Corinda Hankins Elliott. Back row left to right: James Sims, Rich Truax, David Russo, Steve Gates, Mike Oates, Randy Holmstrom, Kateri Osborne Lohr, Benjamin Sheppard, Dan Goldman, Tom Scully 

These board members put in late nights and long hours to advocate for students, help pass bonds and levies critical to funding high quality programs, and nurture important community partnerships. Without them, we wouldn’t have so many recent successes to celebrate, like being named as one of the top 10 school systems in the state.

During the recognition, current Board Chair Chrissy Reitz chimed in to show appreciation to former school board members too: "Our school district functions so well because of the path you laid."

Current school board members portraits
Current school board members from left: Benjamin Sheppard, Corinda Hankins Elliott, Rich Truax, Julia Garcia-Ramirez, Tom Scully, Chrissy Reitz, Brandi Sheppard.


School Board Appreciation Month Logo

Chrissy Reitz
Rich Truax
Julia Garcia-Ramirez
Tom Scully
Benjamin Sheppard
Corinda Hankins Elliott
Brandi Sheppard
Mike Oates
Anne Saxby
Randy Holmstrom
Rob Brostoff
Liz Whitmore
David Russo
Kateri Osborne Lohr
James Sims
Bev Annala
Steve Gates
Chuck Haynie
Jan Veldhuisen Virk
Jeff Kopecky
Mark Johnson
Bob Danko
Bobby Walker
Lynae Hansen
Ramona Ropek
Kathleen Malone
Karen Ostrye
Fred Duckwall
Sue McCarthy
Dick Arnold
Bob Spotts
Pat Schmuck
Dan Bubb
Sally LaVenture
Richard McBee
Bill Baker
Roland Biehn
Robert Stratton
Sandy Lindland
Teunis Wyers
Bill DeBorde
Dean Kleinsmith
Alex Newman
Garry Cassidy
Betty Lawson
Gyda Haight
Keith Sandahl
Gowlan Wells
Ann Watt
Jay Tveidt
Glenn Adams
Ron Rivers
Jackie Wade
James Higgins
Don Spink
Jeanne Gaulke
Gene Euwer
Marion Bump
Masami Asai
Anne Cushman
Richard Radliff
Don Clark
James Lee
Allen Moore
Norm Paul
William Todd
Harry Cramblett
Bob Thomsen
Jim Stuck
Dick Nafsinger
Paul Hamada
Vawter Parker